diverse group of TUC students

Justice. Equity. Diversity. Inclusion.

At TUC, we are committed to working to dismantle institutional racism and creating a safe educational and working environment on our campus.


infographic showing the six areas of focus for the Jedi council: Programming, Alumni, Student Recruitments & Retention, Curriculum, Staff/Faculty Recruitments & Retention, Campus Climate

The first Justice, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (JEDI) Council was appointed by the Provost in August 2020.

This Council initiated its first monthly meeting October 29, 2020. The Council was and is comprised of members representing all academic and student service departments. Members serve as a specific body that listens and validates all perspectives on the campus through educated conversations, transparent humility and actionable items that foster a community of diversity and inclusion.

Over time, JEDI subcommittees were formed in six areas of focus. The Chair of each leads efforts in their respective areas. Campus community members are continuously invited to participate in these committees.

Listening Sessions

The JEDI council conducts “listening sessions” to understand perspectives and needs among students, staff and faculty.

Progress and Evaluation Reports

The JEDI Council is committed to providing an annual JEDI progress and evaluation report of the TUC JEDI goals and initiatives; regular updates as part of the Provost campus communications; and will explore prospects to develop a physical space for a Center for Diversity and Inclusion on the TUC Campus as part of the university’s strategic plan.

Current Council Members


Gayle Cummings

Vice Chair:

Andrea Garcia

Vice Chair:

Steve Jacobson

University Equity Officer:

Paisley Rosengren (Interim)

CILT Representative

Jim O’Connor

COP Representative

Rolly Kali-Rai

CEHS Representative

Assefaw Ghebrekidan

COM Representative

Eduardo Velasco

Faculty Senate Representative

Alexandra Hernandez

Faculty Senate Representative

Grace Jones

Faculty Senate Representative

Michelle Wolfe

Library Representative

Jennifer Abueg

Staff Council Representative

Sharon Chesney

Staff Council Representative

Doritina Phenix

SGA Diversity/Inclusion Representative


COP Student Representative

Katherine Huynh

CEHS Student Representative


COM Student Representative

Katherine Meadows

Student Club Representative

Adryanna Corral

Student Club Representative

Nneka Okonkwo

Subcommittees & Members

Campus Climate:

  • Eduardo Velasco
  • Assefaw Ghebrekidan
  • Jennifer Abueg

Curriculum Development:

  • Jim O’Connor
  • Kathering Huynh
  • Michelle Wolf

Student Recruitment & Retention:

  • Paisley Rosengren
  • Katherine Meadows
  • Adyranna Corral

Campus Programming:

  • Paisley Rosengren
  • Doritina Phenix
  • Grace Jones

Alumni & Community Outreach:

  • Doritina Phenix
  • Rolly Kali-Rai
  • Adryanna Corral

Faculty/Staff Recruitment & Retention:

  • Alexandra Hernandez
  • Sharon Chesney
  • Doritina Phenix