Osteopathic Medicine Earns 10-year Accreditation

COCA awards the College of Osteopathic Medicine at TUC and TUN “Accreditation with Exceptional Outcome”.

May 20, 2022
Media Advisory

VALLEJO - Touro University California took time Thursday to celebrate its College of Osteopathic Medicine following a piece of great news. The Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) announced Thursday that it has awarded the College of Osteopathic Medicine at Touro University California (TUC) and Touro University Nevada (TUN) “Accreditation with Exceptional Outcome,” according to a letter sent to the Deans of those respective programs.

This rare 10-year accreditation means the universities will not have to undergo accreditation again until the 2031-32 school year. COCA is the only organization recognized by the US Department of Education to accredit educational programs leading to a DO degree. It completes this accreditation process to ensure medical schools are meeting national quality standards.

This accomplishment follows the incredible work and success brought to Touro by the immediate past Dean Dr. Michael Clearfield. 

Dr. Tami Hendriksz, Dean of the College of Osteopathic Medicine at TUC said, “This is a huge accomplishment that puts us in the elite category with a small number of other exceptional colleges of osteopathic medicine.”

“This puts us in a very small group of osteopathic medical schools and really shows that we are out there leading the way,” she said. 

Dr. Hendriksz credited the effort of students, staff, faculty, and alumni with making this achievement possible.

“Our commitment to osteopathic principles and practices, robust innovative curriculum, expansive research and leadership opportunities for our students, humanistic approach to medical education, and commitment to social justice and fighting healthcare disparities has helped to distinguish us as one of the best places in the nation to train physicians,” she said. 

Osteopathic Medicine is TUC’s oldest program and the news was celebrated across campuses. 

Provost and Chief Academic Officer Dr. Sarah Sweitzer congratulated everyone affiliated with the College of Osteopathic Medicine.

“We are extremely grateful to Dean Hendriksz for her leadership through this important re-accreditation process,” Dr. Sweitzer said in a campus-wide email. “We are grateful and appreciative for the staff and faculty in COM who have committed their careers to building and growing this exceptional COM program. You are amazing pillars of excellence on our campus.”

Shelley Berkley, CEO and Senior Provost, was grateful to the faculty, staff, and students at each school. 

“This is tremendously exciting news for both California and Nevada,” Berkley said. “The dedicated effort of our faculty and staff and the compassion and drive of our students and alumni are directly reflected in this recognition.”

“I congratulate Dean Hendriksz (California) and Dean Gilliar (Nevada) for their leadership and the faculty and staff on both campuses for their extraordinary efforts in creating a truly outstanding program,” Berkely added. 

*Special note for Sacramento area media: Touro's College of Osteopathic Medicine will have its Commencement at 11 a.m., May 23, at Memorial Auditorium in Sacramento. 

Please contact Andrea Garcia, AVP, University Advancement, 707-280-8771, to arrange for in-person interviews.