TUC Faculty Senate

The Touro University California Faculty Senate is a vital organization of over 100 members. TUC has four separate faculty tracks: the Academic Track, the Basic Science Track, the Clinical Science Track and the Library Track. All regular faculty are Senate members. The Faculty Senate plays a significant role in the governance of the University through the establishment of faculty and educational standards, involvement in faculty contracts and salaries, the rank and promotion of faculty, participation in long-range planning and development, and serving as the link between faculty and administration. The Senate meets on the second Wednesday of each month, except for July. The Faculty Senate is governed by four elected officers called the Executive Committee comprised of the Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary/Treasurer and Member-at-Large who serve two-year terms. 


A Brief History

The first meeting of the Touro University College of Osteopathic Medicine Faculty Organization was held on December 4, 1998 in San Francisco. In attendance were: Drs. James Binkerd, Robert Clark, David Evans, Alejandro Gugliucci, Walter Hartwig, Barbara Inward, Linda Larson-Pryor, Paula Maas, Mary Mazzotta, Alan Miller, and Terry Miller. As of May 2009, all but three of the first meeting attendees are still affiliated with Touro, seven at Touro University California and one at Touro University Nevada. Dr. Linda Larson-Pryor was Interim Chair. The first order of business was to define a constitution and to review the draft of the faculty handbook. The organization’s name was changed to Faculty Senate in the spring of 1999 shortly before the University’s move to Mare Island. The first Faculty Senate meeting held on Mare Island was August 11, 1999 with 16 members in attendance. As the University grew to three separate colleges, the name was changed to the Touro University California Faculty Senate. 

Faculty Senate Executive Committee


Gordon C.  McCarter

Gordon McCarter Ph.D.


Vice Chair
Gail Feinberg D.O.


David Malewski 

David Malewski Ph.D. Pharm.D.

Theo Smith 

Theo Smith Ph.D.


Darcie Larimore-Arenas 

Darcie Larimore-Arenas 



Tamara Trujillo

Past Chair 

Tamara Trujillo MA. MLS



Faculty Senate Committees 

  • Executive Committee
  • Faculty Benefits and Retention Committee
  • Faculty Grievance Committee
  • Faculty Technology Advisory Committee (FTAC)
  • Library Committee
  • Rank and Promotion Committee
  • Research Committee
  • Sabbatical Committee

Joint Faculty Senate/University Shared Committees 

  • Program Review Committee
  • Interprofessional Education Committee (IPE)