For Immediate Release

Contact: Andrea E. Garcia, Touro University California
Associate Vice President, University Advancement

W: (707) 638-5272
C: (707) 280-8771

TUC’s Dr. Alesia Wagner Awarded OPSC Physician of the Year for Her Commitment to Students

Nominated by her students, Ms. Wagner is revered for her ongoing mentoring efforts

Vallejo, CA (April 30, 2019): Touro University California (TUC) is proud to announce that College of Osteopathic Medicine (COM), Primary Care Associate Professor Dr. Alesia Wagner has been awarded the Osteopathic Physician and Surgeons of California (OPSC) Physician of the Year award for her ongoing work promoting osteopathic education and student mentoring. Nominated by one of her students, this annual award is bestowed by the OPSC committee for a person’s commitment to the osteopathic profession.

“It is a huge honor to be recognized and nominated by my own students for this prestigious award,” said Dr. Wagner. “During my acceptance speech, I challenged everyone to mentor someone. Mentoring students is my passion and the rewards are immeasurable – these are the physicians of the future. They will care for us as patients, while also blazing new medical trails.

Dr. Wagner is well known for having an open door with chocolate available for those who stop by. It’s then that she begins mentoring her students, helping those who are struggling by providing some with the space they need to succeed and others with regular, even weekly, check-ins to make sure they stay on track with their course work. This year, she’s mentoring roughly 18 first-through fourth-year students. She provides patient care in the Solano Family Services clinic once a week, as well as the Student-Run Free Clinic once a month. During those times, she is providing educational opportunities for both osteopathic medical students and Touro’s Masters students.

“We congratulate Dr. Wagner on being named OPSC Physician of the Year,” said CAO and Provost Dr. Sarah Sweitzer. “Having this nomination come from one of her students speaks volumes to the power her mentorship has on our students. Dr. Wagner actively supports our college’s mission to serve, to lead, to teach because she instills in our students the importance of working with the professional community to provide holistic, quality health care to their patients and communities.”

This isn’t the first time her students have acknowledged Dr. Wagner’s impact as an effective mentor. In 2016, Dr. Wagner received the Educator of the Year Award from the American Osteopathic Foundation for her impact on encouraging students to actively participate in leadership roles within the profession. This is something she continues to do by involving her students in advocacy with their state and national Osteopathic associations, often working directly with legislators. Dr. Wagner also acts as an advisor to the OPSC student chapter and the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians student chapter helping students network with other osteopathic medical professionals seeking to improve the overall impact of osteopathic care. 

Osteopathic medicine was founded in the late 1800s and focuses on providing a system of care that combines all the benefits of modern medicine with osteopathic manipulative medicine – a set of hands-on techniques that help alleviate pain, restore motion, and support the body’s natural functions to promote its innate ability to heal itself. OPSC, a chartered divisional society of the American Osteopathic Association, seeks to advance the practice of osteopathic medicine as an independent, scientific and complete system of medicine for the restoration and preservation of good health. 

OPSC was led this past year by Senior Associate Dean of the College of Osteopathic Medicine, Dr. Richard Reimer and TUC staff and students continue to be actively involved. In addition to Dr. Wagner, the OPSC committee awarded Student Leader of the Year to TUC Student Dr. Alexander Wulff and the Service to the Profession Award to TUC Professor Howard Feinberg. TUC Adjunct Faculty Member Minh Quang Nguyen, DO was named the new OPSC President and TUC student Dr. Emma Schatz the new student member to the Board of Directors. As a past OPSC President, Dr. Wagner attends board meetings regularly to help new student members, such as Dr. Schatz, feel more confident asking questions and making recommendations to the larger board.

About the Touro College and University System:

Touro is a system of non-profit institutions of higher and professional education. Touro College was chartered in 1970 primarily to enrich the Jewish heritage, and to serve the larger American and global community. Approximately 18,000 students are currently enrolled in its various schools and divisions. Touro has 35 campuses and locations in New York, California, Nevada, Illinois, Berlin, Jerusalem and Moscow. New York Medical College; Touro University California and Touro University Nevada; Touro University Worldwide and its Touro College Los Angeles division; as well as Hebrew Theological College in Skokie, Ill. are separately accredited institutions within the Touro College and University System. For further information on Touro College, please go to:

About The Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons of California: The Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons of California (OPSC) has supported, advanced and protected the osteopathic profession in California for over 50 years. OPSC seeks to advance the profession as an independent, scientific and complete system of medicine for the restoration and preservation of good health. They also present educational programs and information that contribute to the effective, professional practice of osteopathic health care for all members of the profession. OPSC helps the individual Doctor of Osteopathy better serve the interests of the profession, provide quality health care for patients and assist the public to better understand osteopathic medicine and its contribution to total health care.