Touro University California Recognizes
Community Lamplighters

The historic Farragut Inn Ballroom was bustling with dignitaries and company leaders on the evening of November 15th in celebration of Touro University California’s inaugural Community Lamplighter Awards. The university, which was founded under Jewish Auspices in 1997, sought to recognize those in the community who have been steadfast in showing the way for others, honoring them with the epithet lamplighter.

“In Jewish tradition, lamplighters are pillars of the community,” said CEO and Senior Provost, Shelley Berkley. “Each recipient has been nominated by their peers and reviewed with careful deliberation by our selection committee. We are incredibly proud to be able to honor them.”

Proceeds from the evening went to support diversity student scholarships.

Keynote Speaker for the evening, Xavier Becerra, California Attorney General, congratulated the awardees and praised the event’s attendees for supporting the students of Touro University California and their efforts to strengthen and improve California.

The Lamplighter Awards were founded to honor those in the community who have carried the torch in the areas of health, education, community mobilization, and social justice. The awards were presented by Ms. Berkley and Provost and CAO, Dr. Sarah Sweitzer.

Lamplighter in Community Mobilization: The Shiva-Vishnu Temple, Livermore
Lamplighter in Education: Reverend Scott Peterson
Lamplighter in Health: Yocha Dehe Wintun Nation
Lamplighter in Social Justice Advocacy: Robby Poblete Foundation
The Bernard Lander Lamplighter Alumni Award: Benjamin Abo, DO, Class of 2011
The Touro Bull Award: Buck Kamphausen

The evening’s supporters included Lamplighter Tier donors California Bank & Trust, Kaiser Permanente, and PG&E; Gold Tier donors NorthBay Healthcare, Sutter Health, Medic Ambulance, Dignity Health, and Skyview Memorial Lawn; Silver Tier donors APAPA, Mazel Foods Inc., Jelly Belly Candy Company, MuriGenics, and Robby Poblete Foundation; and Bronze Tier donors Allied Universal, Republic Services, Monarch Engineers, and Yocha Dehe Wintun Nation.