• Home
  • »
  • About Us
  • »
  • TUC Life
  • »
  • Student Life
  • »
  • Mallory Mitchell, College of Osteopathic Medicine Class of 2018, named Touro’s 2017 Student Doctor of the Year!

Mallory Mitchell, College of Osteopathic Medicine Class of 2018, named Touro’s 2017 Student Doctor of the Year!

Touro University California (TUC) is proud to announce that Student Doctor Mallory Mitchell, College of Osteopathic Medicine (COM) Class of 2018, has been announced as Touro's 2017 Student Doctor of the Year (SDOY)!

SDOY Mallory Mitchell“Mallory has made a sustained, long-term impact--starting in her first year as a medical student, and continuing today in her fourth year rotations. Her work with Shirati Babies Project aligns with the college's emphasis on social justice, and its reach extends globally,” endorses Roman Roque, SDOY chair and member of the COM class of 2020.

During her time at TUC, Ms. Mitchell has served many homeless patients as coordinator in the Berkeley Suitcase Clinic. And as a student leader for the Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons of California (OPSC), she has advocated for the growing impact of an osteopathically distinct medical education in the West Coast.

As a first year student, she helped reduce neonatal mortality in Tanzania by teaching community members preventative neonatal care. But her commitment to each newborn only grew when she returned home and founded the Shirati Babies Project, which brings supplies to Shirati District Hospital in an effort to reduce infant mortality.

Through her non-profit, donors can give $10 to sponsor a blanket for an infant at the hospital. The blankets are locally made with both traditional and special absorbent materials. Within the first few months of the project, 300 blankets were sponsored and 40 stethoscopes.

“I am impressed that Student Doctor Mitchell’s breadth of work is focused on addressing the social determinants that contribute to overall health,” says Mr. Roque. “At Touro University California and across the country, she exemplifies what a medical student should strive for — making an impact through driving sustainable, long-lasting change.”

Ms. Mitchell herself was still surprised at receiving the great honor.

“While I am very proud of the work I have done in the field of global health, I know many of my fellow medical students at Touro University have done amazing work as well,” explains Mitchell. “This award would be well-deserved by many, so I am humbled and honored that I was chosen for it.”

Each College of Osteopathic Medicine selects a SDOY, and these school winners will go on to compete for the National SDOY Award. The Student Doctor of the Year Award (SDOY) is an award presented annually by the Council of Osteopathic Student Government Presidents (COSGP), a council of the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM), to students who go above and beyond the average osteopathic medical student. The National SDOY will be announced at the AACOM Annual Meeting in April 2018 and will be the recipient of a $1,000 monetary award.

Also honored as local SDOY recipients for each COM class: Marissa Haberlach, COM 2018; Hiroe Hu, COM; and Yasmin Bains, COM 2020.

The selection committee consisted of Mr. Roman Roque, SDOY Committee Chair; Dr. Alesia Wagner, Primary Care Representative; Dr. Stacey Pierce-Talsma, OPP Representative; Dr. Athena Lin, Basic Sciences Representative; Mr. Derek Ochi, Student Executive Council Representative; and Ms. Sheena Song, Class Representative.

Read more for an interview with Ms. Mitchell.

Visit http://www.shiratibabiesproject.com/ for more information.